LISTEN: Anika Covers Shocking Blue, Chromatics on New EP

Photo: Alisa Resnik

Stones Throw shared another cover from Anika’s upcoming EP today, a drowsy version of “Love Buzz.” That’d be the 44-year-old Shocking Blue single Nirvana famously covered way back in 1988, launching their career and Sub Pop’s Singles Club series with one galloping bass line and lots of feedback.

Check out its woozy reboot below, along with Anika’s deviant-disco take on Chromatics. Stones Throw will release the rest of the singer’s self-titled EP on April 16th, including dub versions of “No One’s There” and “Yang Yang” and one other new cover, the Crystals’ bleak girl-group classic “He Hit Me (It Felt Like a Kiss)”…

Anika EP

Anika, Anika EP (Stones Throw, April 16th):
1. I Go To Sleep
2. He Hit Me
3. Love Buzz
4. In The City
5. No One’s There (dub)
6. Yang Yang (dub)