Abe Vigoda Shed Their Tropical-Punk Tendencies on ‘Crush’, the Closest They’ve Ever Come to a Cold-Wave Album


In a move that makes perfect sense given the recent rise of 4AD/Mute-indebted bands like Zola Jesus and Cold Cave, Abe Vigoda have added a steely synth-pop sheen to their new Crush album. Due out September 21 through No Age’s PPM imprint, it’s the first record to truly feature drummer Dane Chadwick, a beat-head who helped with a lot of the LP’s electronic elements.

“My favorite kind of music is instantly nostalgic and emotionally confusing,” singer Michael Vidal said in a press release, “And reverb has always been a big part of our sound. We were definitely inspired by cold wave and minimal wave stuff, as well as Arthur Russell.”

Crush‘s first single, “Throwing Shade,” is available after the jump along with the record’s cover art and tracklisting…


1. Sequins
2. Dream Of My Love (Chasing After You)
3. Throwing Shade
4. Crush
5. November
6. Pure Violence
7. Repeating Angel
8. To Tears
9. Beverly Slope
10. We Have To Mask