Basic Rhythm

Download an exclusive 'Future Funk' mix
of new and previously unreleased material

While we try not to tap the same artist twice in our Needle Exchange series, we made an exception for Anthoney J Hart this week because the pirate radio and UK rave nods of his Basic Rhythm project are completely separate in sound and spirit from his progressive grime productions under the name East Man. It's also hard to say no to what's essentially a restless trailer of freshly cut tracks from Hart's own personal hard drive—a special 'Future Funk 001' set.... 

"I recorded this studio mix to give you a taste of what's coming up for the rest of this year and the beginning of the next," explains Hart. "It includes new and unreleased tracks from P.Adrix, Scratcha DVA, Mickey Pearce, Cassius Select, and others, as well as lots of my own material. I have a 12" on Arcola coming out this summer, an EP on Sneaker Social some time after that, and then my third album which will be coming out on Planet Mu early next year."
Basic Rhythm - Feel Me (Parris Remix)
Cassius Select - Screwface
Basic Rhythm - Powder Blue
Basic Rhythm - New Style
Sinjin Hawke - Don’t Lose Yourself To This (Basic Rhythm ‘Lost Boys’ Mix)
Cassius Select - Cartoon
Basic Rhythm - Black Wax
Mickey Pearce - Some Bullshit
Differ-Ent - Drum Addict
Mickey Pearce - Jam 5  
Basic Rhythm - Edge of Darkness
Akito & Famous Eno - Airplane Mode (DVA Hi:Emotions Remix)
Basic Rhythm & Jamie K - Summer In East
DVA & Gage - Piffd
Cassius Select - They Shook
Basic Rhythm - Buss It
Basic Rhythm - Can’t You See?
Scratchclart - Mac & Cheez
Basic Rhythm - Nuh Ramp
Ken Finger - From Telly To Belly
Basic Rhythm - What’s Happening?
Scratchclart - Square Off
Basic Rhythm - Too Nuff
Basic Rhythm - Get Up
Basic Rhythm - Slice Neck
P.Adrix - Estação De Queluz