Battles Reveal Guest List, Release Date For ‘Gloss Drop’ Album

It’s taken them four years and the loss of one estranged band member (Tyondai Braxton), but Battles have finally wrapped up their second proper LP. Due out June 7 through Warp, Gloss Drop features 12 new tracks and such special guests as Matias Aguayo, Gary Numan, and Boredoms’ Yamantaka Eye.

Speaking to Pitchfork recently, guitarist/bassist Dave Konopka said the record features “a good spectrum–some shorter songs, some poppier songs, some total rock songs, some more out-there songs, some manic songs, a semi hip-hop-vibe song.” He also tackled the topic of Braxton’s absence head on, saying, “I’m not going to candy-coat it–the situation was kind of dark. The three of us argued and were pissed off after Ty left but we were like, ‘Fuck that. That’s chapter’s closed. Let’s move on.’ From there, the most important thing was to maintain the integrity of what the band means to us and to carry on with it.”

Check out the full tracklisting below, along with a special playlist of classic Battles material…

Battles, Gloss Drop:
1. Africastle
2. Ice Cream (Featuring Matias Aguayo)
3. Futura
4. Inchworm
5. Wall Street
6. My Machines (Featuring Gary Numan)
7. Dominican Fade
8. Sweetie & Shag (Featuring Kazu Makino)
9. Toddler
10. Rolls Bayce
11. White Electric
12. Sundome (Featuring Yamantaka Eye)