Cass McCombs Announces Double Album

After taking a bit of a break last year—he earned it by releasing two records in 2011—Cass McCombs has returned with word of a double LP that’s due out October 15th through Domino. Here’s the breakdown, via a press release:

Big Wheel and Others comprises twenty-two songs…but ‘double album’ implies bloat, prog, and concept, so, let’s stick with ‘songs.’ Big Wheel and Others is a bundle, a bindle, a hay bale, and an oil barrel of songs. Some of the genres that are to be found in varying degrees in the songs on this album are: road songs, rock songs, folk songs, blues songs, country songs, rhythm and blues songs, skronk non-songs, cinema songs, cult songs, poem songs, jams, and ballads—to use however you wish.”

Included in that crowded lot is McCombs’ second duet with Karen Black, the “Dreams Come True Girl” collaborator/cult actress who died from cancer complications earlier this month. Check out the album’s complete tracklisting and lead single below, along with a handful of tour dates…

'Big Wheel And Others'

Cass McCombs, Big Wheel and Others (Domino, October 15th):
Disc 1:
1. Sean I
2. Big Wheel
3. Angel Blood
4. Morning Star
5. The Burning Of The Temple, 2012
6. Brighter!
7. There Can Be Only One
8. Name Written in Water
9. Joe Murder
10. Everything Has To Be Just-So

Disc 2:
1. It Means A Lot To Know You Care
2. Dealing
3. Sooner Cheat Death Than Fool Love
4. Satan Is My Toy
5. Sean II
6. Home On The Range
7. Brighter! (Featuring Karen Black)
8. Untitled Spain Song
9. Sean III
10. Honesty Is No Excuse
11. Aeon Of Aquarius Blues
12. Unearthed

Cass McCombs Tour dates:
8/30 Salisbury, UK – End of the Road Festival
9/2 Manchester, UK – Castle Hotel
9/5 Providence, RI – Columbus Theatre
9/6 Biddeford, ME – The Oak and the Ax
9/7 Burlington, VT – Signal Kitchen
9/14 Hudson, NY – Basilica Soundscape 2013
1/13 London, UK – Queen Elizabeth Hall