DJ Shadow Unveils Best-Of Collection, Limited Box Set

DJ Shadow - 'Reconstructed' Box Set

DJ Shadow - 'Reconstructed' Box Set

If last year was the long-awaited return of new DJ Shadow recordings, 2012 has been just the opposite–a series of revisionist you-must-learn material that’s included a compilation of early MPC cuts and now this, a long overdue best-of LP. Due out September 11th through Hip-O, Reconstructed: Best of DJ Shadow is a 16-track survey of catalog-skimming productions, from the obvious (“Organ Donor,” “Midnight in a Perfect World”) to the relatively obscure (score work for the NYC subway doc Dark Days). Shadow also dropped two new songs in the mix, including a collaboration with Terry Reid. Which isn’t the same thing as sharing his bleak UNKLE duet with Thom Yorke (“Rabbit in Your Headlights”) but we digress.

Anyway, check out a new Shadow song in the video below, along with a complete tracklisting and cover art. Oh, and if you really want to hear the beat conductor’s full story, there’s always the limited, $270 box set version of Reconstructed, which includes the following…

DJ Shadow, Reconstructed: The Definitive DJ Shadow:
– A black acrylic slipcase infilled with glow in the dark graphic
– A glow in the dark bound book holding all contents of the release
– Seven CDs: Endtroducing…../ Endtroducing (Excessive Ephemera) / The Private Press / The Outsider / The Less You Know The Better / The Best Of The Rest / DJ Shadow Live In Glasgow, 2011
– One DVD: In Tune And On Time
– One 180GSM Vinyl: The Best Of The Remixes
– 12 Page Gloss Laminated + Emboseed Wire Bound Booklet Featuring An Essay By Dave Tompkins Including Selected Discography
– An Individual Certificate Of Authenticity Signed By DJ Shadow

DJ Shadow - 'Reconstructed: Best of DJ Shadow'

DJ Shadow, Reconstructed: Best of DJ Shadow (Hip-O, September 11th):
1. Midnight In A Perfect World
2. High Noon
3. I’ve Been Trying
4. This Time (I’m Gonna Try It My Way)
5. You Can’t Go Home Again
6. Scale It Back (Featuring Little Dragon)
7. Listen (Featuring Terry Reid)
8. Stem
9. Six Days
10. Won t You Be
11. Organ Donor (Extended Overhaul)
12. Lonely Soul (Featuring Richard Ashcroft)
13. Blood On The Motorway
14. You Made It (Featuring Chris James)
15. Redeemed
16. Dark Days (Main Theme)