Ghostly Curates ‘Context’ Compilation, Featuring Aidan Baker, Leyland Kirby & Nine More Artists That Make Us Cry In Public

A self-portrait of Peter Broderick

It’s been a while since Ghostly International last revived its ambient-leaning “SMM” imprint, so the sad sack in all of us rejoiced when we heard about the label’s new Context series recently. Set to drop on March 1, it’s “a hand-picked selection of some of the world’s finest musicians…who traffic in SMM’s slow-moving, texture-focused compositions, simple in instrumentation, but infinitely complex in execution.”

What this means for the rest of us is an immaculately curated compilation of drone, ambient and neo-classical pieces from Jacaszek, Leyland Kirby, Ghostly alum Rafael Anton Irisarri (a.k.a. The Sight Below), and a host of other minor-keyed maestros who bring a tear to our eyes on a regular basis. Here’s the full tracklisting, cover art, and two streaming songs…

Various Artists, SMM: Context (March 1, Ghostly International):
1. Goldmund – Motion
2. Leyland Kirby – Polaroid
3. Svarte Greiner – Halves
4. Christina Vantzou – 11 Generations Of My Fathers
5. Jacaszek – Elegia
6. The Fun Years – Cornelia Amygdaloid
7. Manual – Three Parts
8. Aidan Baker – Substantiated
9. Rafael Anton Irisarri – Moments Descend On My Windowpane
10. Kyle Bobby Dunn – Runge’s Last Stand
11. Peter Broderick – Pause