New Order Announce Music Complete Album, Their First Without Peter Hook

New Order

New Order have finally wrapped the Mute debut they first teased last September. Due out September 25th, Music Complete features additional production from Stuart Price (Madonna, The Killers, Pet Shop Boys) and a couple recordings (“Singularity,” “Unlearn This Hatred”) with Chemical Brother Tom Rowlands behind the boards.

According to a press release, the new record “finds the group revitalized, and where the group has previously pushed toward electronics or guitars, here the two are in balance. Music Complete also marks a return to the studio for Gillian Gilbert; this is her first album with New Order since 2001’s Get Ready.”

While that’s great news, bassist Peter Hook sat out the sessions completely, upholding his decision to quit the band in 2007 and making Music Complete the only New Order album without his creative input. (Another round of Joy Division reissues will have to fill that void for now.) Here is the first indication of what that might sound like…

New Order - 'Music Complete' album art

New Order
Music Complete
(Mute, September 25th)

1. Restless
2. Singularity
3. Plastic
4. Tutti Frutti
5. People on the High Line
6. Stray Dog
7. Academic
8. Nothing But a Fool
9. Unlearn This Hatred
10. The Game
11. Superheated