Black Dirt Oak

BDO & Jantar MIE 031

Not much is known about MIE’s new split 12” beyond the names of its participants—Jantar and Black Dirt Oak—and the latter’s collective tissue, which has included Steve Gunn and members of Psychic Ills (Jimy SeiTang), Pelt (Nathan Bowles), Rhyton (Dave Shuford) and more in the past.

It doesn’t really matter who’s responsible for today’s #selftitledpremiere though. The deeply felt grooves in “Fjordside” do, beginning with a piano-slapped synth passage and slowly blossoming into a march straight towards the sun.

Feel the burn: