Amen Dunes Reveals Cowboy Worship EP

Amen Dunes


Amen Dunes has announced a new EP featuring members of The Men (guitarist Ben Greenberg, a.k.a. Hubble) and Harvey Milk (bassist Stephen Tanner). Due out January 20th through Sacred Bones, Cowboy Worship features leftover songs from this year’s sorely overlooked Love LP, including a full band version of “Lezzy Head” from Damon McMahon’s last album and a cover of This Mortal Coil tackling Tim Buckley.

“I tried this one solo and it didn’t feel right,” the singer-songwriter says of “Song to the Siren,” which features Greenberg’s cleanup chords. “Thankfully, Ben lived upstairs and was up for playing. He came down and we didn’t have to say much to each other, which was a sign it would work.

He continues, “There isn’t much talking in Amen Dunes; things either flow naturally or not at all. This track in particular, a This Mortal Coil cover of a Tim Buckley cover, is a perfect metaphor for Amen Dunes. Tim Buckley heart within a This Mortal Coil body, which could be substituted with a Bob Dylan heart within a Throbbing Gristle body, or any similar pairing, inverted, reversed or flipped, any which way. Solid Ying Yang.”

Have a listen down below, along with Amen Dunes’ upcoming tour dates…

Amen Dunes - 'Cowboy Worship' cover

Cowboy Worship:
1. I Know Myself (Montreal)
2. Song to the Siren
3. I Can’t Dig It (China Street Blues)
4. Green Eyes (Music Blues)
5. Lezzy Head (Burial)
6. Love (Montreal)

Amen Dunes tour dates:
1/22 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom #
3/26 Baltimore, MD – TBD
3/27 Raleigh, NC – Pinhook
3/28 Knoxville, TN – Big Ears Festival
3/29 Bloomington, IN – The Bishop
3/31 Iowa City, IA – Mission Creek Festival
4/1 Chicago, IL – Schubas
4/2 Cleveland, OH – Beachland Tavern

# with Kevin Morby, Nude Beach