Iggy Pop Taps Noveller, Leron Thomas For ‘Somber’ New Album

Iggy Pop


Iggy Pop appears to have switched up his sound once again, recruiting guitarist Sarah Lipstate (a.k.a. the sky-scraping ambient sculptor Noveller) and jazz trumpeter Leron Thomas for his new album Free. Due out September 6th through Loma Vista, it’s described as a “uniquely somber and contemplative” effort that has “virtually nothing in common sonically with its predecessor (2016’s Post Pop Depression LP) — or with any other Iggy Pop album.”

“This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice,” Pop explained in a press release. “By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need — not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Check out the record’s teaser of a lead track below, along with its cover art and complete track listing….

Iggy Pop | Free album cover

Iggy Pop
(Loma Vista, September 6th)

1. Free
2. Loves Missing
3. Sonali
4. James Bond
5. Dirty Sanchez
6. Glow In The Dark
7. Page
8. We Are The People
9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
10. The Dawn