Penelope Trappes Reveals the Latest Rework From Redeux

JFDR | Penelope Trappes

Rather than go the simple remix compilation route, Penelope Trappes hands the keys to her second album (last year’s Penelope Two LP) over to such like-minded artists as Mogwai, Cosey Fanni Tutti, and Throwing Snow on Redeux. Due out June 7th through Houndstooth, it features 10 fresh takes on the singer/producer’s spellbinding music, leaving a winding hall of funhouse mirrors behind in their wake.

“There were no preconceived notions of how the reworks would work together,” explains Trappes, “just total freedom. I’m absolutely in love with all of these! I never really thought I’d get the chance to collaborate with such an array of creative artists who have inspired me, but I’ve learned to never say never.”

The record’s latest official leak is a lightly embellished “Maeve” rework by Jófríður Ákadóttir (a.k.a. JFDR, pictured in the Aida Berisha photo on the left) that pushes Trappes’ original track into the pale moonlight. Or as Ákadóttir puts it, “I just wanted to put a veil over her eyes and dance with her”….

Penelope Redeux

Penelope Trappes
(Houndstooth, June 7th)

1. Burn On (Mogwai Rework)
2. Carry Me (Cosey Fanni Tutti Rework)
3. Maeve (JFDR Rework)
4. Farewell (Johnny Hostile Rework)
5. Night Hive (Paul Corley Rework)
6. Nite Hive (Nik Colk Void Rework)
7. Connector (Aasthma Rework)
8. Farewell (Throwing Snow Rework)
9. Kismet (Poppy Ackroyd Rework)
10. Burn On (Félicia Atkinson Rework)