Black Rain Announces Dark Pool, His First New Album in 18 Years

Black Rain

Photo by Jane Chardiet

Stuart Argabright’s (see also: Ike Yard, Death Comet Crew) recently reactivated Black Rain project has revealed its first full-length record since 1996’s Nanarchy LP. Due out in late August through Blackest Ever Black, Dark Pool furthers the producer’s fascination with cyberpunk culture, inspired in part by Philip K. Dick protégé K.W. Jeter—especially his divisive Blade Runner sequel Edge of Human—and Paolo Bacigalupi’s 2009 novel The Windup Girl. To hammer that point home, Sean Young (who played one of the main characters—an android named Rachel—in Blade Runner) makes a brief spoken word appearance, and Zoe Zanias (Kelular) provides vocals on two tracks. According to a press release, they’re “the most audible manifestations of a dejected feminine presence that haunts the entire album,” which projects a “vision of manmade and natural worlds encroaching upon each other: a vivid psychogeography of half-submerged high-rises and hidden jungle laboratories.”

Heavy stuff then. Have a listen to one of its twitchy dance tracks below, and look out for an expanded 2xLP version of Blackest Ever Black’s Now I’m Just A Number: Soundtracks 1994-95 compilation in 2015, along with some of the other work (including a new Ike Yard album and EP!) Argabright mentions here

Black Rain - 'Dark Pool'

Black Rain, Dark Pool (Blackest Ever Black):
1. Dark Pool
2. Profusion
3. Watering Hole
4. Endourban
5. Burst
6. Xibalba Road Metamorph
7. Data River
8. Night In New Chiang Saen
9. Protoplasm
10. Profusion II (Fallofthehouseofagodofbiomechanical)
11. Who Will Save The Tiger?