Brian Eno, Karl Hyde Announce New ‘Someday World’ Album

Brian Eno and Underworld singer/producer Karl Hyde have announced their first collaborative album, Someday World. Due out May 5th through Warp Records, the effort features nine songs co-written and sung by the pair, featuring such guest musicians as Tessa Angus, Nell Catchpole, Marianna Champion, Will Champion, Kasia Daszykowska, Don E., Darla Eno, Georgia Gibson, Andy Mackay, John Reynolds and Chris Vatalaro. The wild card here may be Fred Gibson though, a 22 year old who helped Eno on the production side of things.

“I had a big collection of ‘beginnings’ sitting around waiting for something to galvanise them into life,” Eno explained in a press release, “to make them more than just ‘experiments’. That something turned out to be Karl Hyde.”

“It’s a bit like being nine years old again,” added Hyde. “You have no idea what you’ve just been given, the record button has been pressed and you’re on. And then these unlikely patterns start to happen. The biggest surprise was discovering we both had a love of Afrobeat, Cyclical music based in live playing. When Brian played me these early tracks it was, ‘Oh my god, this is home! Can I borrow a guitar?'”

To be clear, this isn’t the first time they’ve worked together. Eno asked Hyde, the Necks, Jon Hopkins and guitarist Leo Abrahams to help him stage an improvised performance at Sydney’s Luminous Festival in 2009 and Eno also mixed a solo song of Hyde’s called “Slummin’ It For the Weekend.” Check out that subtle track below, along with cover art and a complete tracklisting for Someday World, which can be pre-ordered here

'Someday World' album cover art

ENO • HYDE, Someday World (Warp, May 5th):
1. The Satellites
2. Daddy’s Car
3. A Man Wakes Up
4. Witness
5. Strip It Down
6. Mother Of A Dog
7. Who Rings The Bell
8. When I Built This World
9. To Us All