COMING SOON: Prefuse 73, ‘The Only She Chapters’

The Artist/Album: Prefuse 73, The Only She Chapters (Warp, April 26th)

The Details: After years of side project rumblings and rambling beat-head records, Guillermo Scott Herren has finally taken a welcome detour with a weightless collection of cuts that has more in common with neo-classical compositions than manic MPC workouts.

“This record is a weird one for me,” Herren admitted in a press release. “The process features all women vocalists and voices and the music was recorded very differently from how I normally work. This can be seen as a departure from other albums but it’s not a departure intended to leave people feeling alienated or baffled. It’s just a different way to interpret my music and it’s an open invitation for anyone that wants to listen.”

Guests include Zola Jesus, Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond, and the late Trish Keenan of Broadcast. Check out the full breakdown below, and an album sampler at Warp’s site

Prefuse 73, The Only She Chapters:
1. The Only Recollection of Where Life Stopped
2. The Only Valentine’s Day Failure
3. The Only Contact She’s Willing to Give [ft. Faidherbe]
4. The Only Chamber Resolve
5. The Only Hand to Hold [ft. Shara Worden]
6. The Only Thief to Steal Tonality
7. The Only Trial of 9000 Suns [ft. Trish Keenan]
8. The Only Way to Find [ft. Nico Turner]
9. The Only Test to Score
10. The Only Boogie Down [ft. Niki Randa]
11. The Only Direction in Concrete [ft. Zola Jesus]
12. The Only Recollection of How Things Change
13. The Only Guitar to Die Alone [ft. Adron]
14. The Only Serenidad
15. The Only Lillies And Lilacs
16. The Only Lillies And Lilacs Pt. 2 [ft. Faidherbe]
17. The Only Repeat
18. The Only Recycled Intro