GusGus Announces New Kompakt Album, ‘Arabian Horse’

Photo: Andrew Parks

Of all the pleasant surprises we’ve witnessed over the years, GusGus’ appearance at Iceland’s Airwaves Festival in 2008 ranks as one of the most truly memorable sets we’ve ever experienced. As in music that’s about much more than that, whether we’re talking about the peacock-like showmanship of frontman Daníel Ágúst Haraldsson, the steady analog pulse that weaves its way around him like only the most classic techno tropes can, or a barrier-breaking moment like showering the crowd in several inches of fake snow.

We haven’t had a chance to explore their back catalog much yet–mostly because it’s so damn deep–but that may change soon as the collective readies their second record for Kompakt. Due out May 9th, Arabian Horse features GusGus’ core trio (President Bongo, Biggi Veira, and Haraldsson) alongside the return of singer Urður “Earth” Hákonardóttir and guest appearances from Högni Egilsson of Hjaltalin and DAVÍÐ ÞÓR JÓNSSON.

Check out the cover art and tracklisting below, along with some videos for those of you who’ve never heard them before…

GusGus, Arabian Horse:
1. Selfoss
2. Be With Me
3. Deep Inside
4. Over
5. Within You
6. Arabian Horse
7. Magnified Love
8. Changes Come
9. When Your Lover’s Gone
10. Benched