Light In the Attic Reveals Second Box Set In Its New Age Series


Light In the Attic has revealed the second volume in its New Age series, a triple LP survey of continental Europe featuring both cult (Bernard Xolotl, Robert Julian Horky, Enno Velthuys) and iconic figures (Vangelis, Ash Ra Tempel, Popol Vuh) from the ’70s and ’80s. According to a press release, “The Microcosm requests nothing more than an open mind to consider this ambient, new age, neuzeit, prog, krautrock, cosmic, holistic stuff, whatever one calls it—as a pulsating movement unto itself, a mirror refracting the American new age scene in unexpected, electrifying ways, proving beyond a shadow of a doubt the universality of the timeless quest to express ‘the Ineffable’ through music.”

Sounds good to us. Stream the compilation’s lead single below…

'The Microcosm' album art

Various Artists
(The Microcosm): Visionary Music of Continental Europe, 1970-1986
(Light in the Attic, November 4th)

1. Vangelis – Creation Du Monde
2. Ralph Lundsten – Bön 5 – Förlåt Oss Vâra Skulder
3. Ash Ra Tempel – Le Sourire Vole?
4. Popol Vuh – Brüder des Schattens – Söhne des Lichts (abridged)
5. Ariel Kalma – Orguitar Soir
6. Bernard Xolotl – Cometary Wailing (Valley Plateau)
7. Peter Michael Hamel – Einklang
8. Francesco Messina – Untitled
9. Roedelius – Wenn der Südwind Weht
10. Deutsche Wertarbeit – Der Grosse Atem
11. Robert Julian Horky – Dance For A Warrior
12. Karl Schaffner & Lothar Grimm – Caravan
13. Suzanne Doucet & Christian Buehner – Shivas Dance
14. Enno Velthuys – Morning Glory
15. Deuter – Spirales
16. Gigi Masin – Ship Beetel