Now-Again Ready ‘Lost 4th Coming Album’ For Synth-Funk Completists

4th Coming

Way back in 1999, DJ Shadow and Keb Darge put together a BBE compilation (available in YouTube form here) of “real funk for real people” that featured such dusty sides as the rare 4th Coming instrumental “The Dead Don’t Die Alive (Part One).” The Cali-funk band—led by songwriting duo Porter and Jechonias “Jack” S. Williams—never actually got around to releasing a proper album, but they did manage to fire off a series of singles during their 1969-1974 run.

Enter Egon’s always on-point Now-Again imprint. Come October 23rd, they’ll release the “lost 4th Coming album,” Strange Things: The Complete Works. According to a press release, it’s “a thrilling listen, a mysterious trove of recordings made possible by an open minded and well-funded indie impresario—[Al] Firth—which document a very real and very weird Los Angeles of the past.”

Dig into the vocalized version of “The Dead Don’t Die Alive” down below…

4th Coming compilation

4th Coming
Strange Things: The Complete Works 1970-1974
(Now-Again, October 23rd)

1. We Got Love
2. Take Time
3. Oh Love
4. Heaven & Earth
5. Come On
6. Don’t Let Him Take Away Your Mind
7. Strange Things
8. You’re My Precious Someone
9. The Dead Don’t Die Alive
10. Don’t Let Him Take Away Your Mind (Impact Version)
11. Why Don’t You Put Your Trust In Me
12. Waterloo at Watergate
13. Come to the Feast
14. Cruising Central Ave.
15. You Don’t Stand A Chance (Part 1)
16. You Don’t Stand A Chance (Part 2)
17. The Dead Don’t Die Alive (Instrumental)
18. Waterloo at Watergate (Instrumental)