Kindness Reveals New Otherness Album, Shares “World Restart” With Kelela & Ade


Photo by Pauline Beaudemont

Kindness has confirmed the details around his second proper LP, Otherness. Due out October 14th through Female Energy/Mom + Pop, the record features a tightly edited guest list (including Kelela, Robyn and Devonté Hynes) and such admitted influences as Prince, Sade, Kate Bush, Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, and Herbie Hancock, whom Adam Bainbridge wrote personally to clear a sample (“Moon-Light,” a collaboration with the kora player Foday Musa) for the song “For the Young.” Hancock approved, making it a rare sanctioned use of his recordings.

“I want to give people another choice,” Bainbridge explains in a press release. “There’s a lot of great, direct contemporary-sounding pop music to choose from, but even the most mainstream of mainstream audiences might also want something that sounds different from time to time. I still love and appreciate pop music, but I’m happy to leave the people making it to get on with their thing. My motivation is: ‘What do I feel I can do better than anyone else?’ I hope I’ve made that record.”

Check out our interview with Bainbridge from a few years back here, and the lead single from his new LP down below, along with cover art, a complete tracklisting and a trailer…

Kindness - 'Otherness' album cover

1. World Restart feat. Kelela & Ade
2. This Is Not About Us
3. I’ll Be Back
4. Who Do You Love? feat. Robyn
5. 8th Wonder feat. M.anifest
6. With You feat. Kelela
7. Geneva
8. For The Young
9. Why Don’t You Love Me feat. Devonté Hynes & Tawiah
10. It’ll Be OK